Books I SHOULD TOTALLY ADD TO MY SHELF

That is, after I buy 1 and replaced my books that I’ve somehow.. lost. But now that I think of it I’m sure it’s with someone.

Anyway, books to read:

Walden by Henry David Thoreau –

A bit of isolation never hurt any man. Thoreau spent two years, two months and two days writing this book in Walden, a cabin tucked deep in the woods near Concord, Massachusetts. This work of non-fiction describes the changing of the seasons over the course of a year and was intended to give the author an escape from society in order to achieve a more objective point of view. A real man would take this sabbatical himself, but the book should suffice for those of you who are employed.

THE GREAT GATSBY by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Set on the East Coast in the roaring 20′s, this American novel is a classic. From it we learn that often the wanting of something is better than actually having it. It is relevant to every man’s life. Furthermore, one true friend is worth infinitely more than a multitude of acquaintances.

“He smiled understandingly-much more than understandingly. It was one of those rare smiles… It faced–or seemed to face–the whole external world for an instant, and then concentrated on you with an irresistible prejudice in your favor.”

 

I’ve always had this fascination with THE GREAT GATSBY. About time I read it. Also I think I am reading a little bit too much. I’m not sure if I’m starting to feel a bit repulsed by the fact that I’d always be the only one reading or that I am spending a lot of my time reading.

 

THE GREAAAAAAAAT GATSBY.

2 thoughts on “Books I SHOULD TOTALLY ADD TO MY SHELF

  1. “So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.”

    The last part of this quote reminds me of sth you wrote in your previous post, about how our past will somehow find its way in our present, in the choices we make etc. Ahhh this book. Yippee faster read it!

Leave a Reply

