This too shall pass

It has been a long time since I posted anything so I thought now would be an appropriate time to break the spree – while the motivation is still burning.

Today, in the presence of my friends, some drunk and deep, while secrets were revealed one after another, I began to put to words the intricate thoughts that lurk in the corners of my mind, pressing to get out. There were talks, expressed thoughts, on the invariable issues with directions in life, on exams, on personal issues, and on feeling empty. My attempts then, to express what I feel, for I could empathize but could not speak, were anything but coherent. I guess this is a failure on my part, or perhaps the lack of expressive conversations. I still need time to puzzle the pieces that fit as and when required.

But here it is – to any readers who still visit my blog – how I intend to live my life, and why you should follow suit. How can one man be a philosopher while another, a dweller? Some would comparatively think of the different in intelligence or capacity and ability of mind. But that is not the case. Has it not occurred to you, that the philosopher shares the same food, the same shelter and the same clothes? How do the handful of people be gifted with the extraordinaire of success and happiness and comfort, while millions of others suffer? By suffer I mean to work to meet ends, and to struggle to seek refuge from the daunting shadows of our backfired dreams, that is reality. We become slaves to money and then we die, not knowing that the answer to all of this is simple.

My good fortune in all of these is the fact that I have never truly been influenced by society. How, I do not know. Although I have my suspicions – there is a chance it’s something my parents fed me as a toddler. What I am now, and what you are now, are the result of our parents’ attempt at creating bond with us. To us, it is quite disposable, as are many other things, because like other things, this bond is given to us and it costed us nothing. We are fed, we are loved and we are provided for. We have homes, we have clothes and we have shelter. Some of us have the greater benefits of having awesome parents who give us controlled yet sufficient freedom. In return, we are encouraged to create our own marks, our own lives through studying, and subsequently working to provide for ourselves and stand alone.

We all have our inspirational figures, we all have had our fair share of motivational moments and inspirational speeches, quotes and books. And every single one of those moments, we are driven greatly to accomplish greatness and we begin to work – like what I am doing now, writing. But it all dies down eventually, does it not? It always does. And we find ourselves once again idle, aimless, helpless, and undriven with the burden of a world we soon have to carry.

Why are our parents always(mostly) right? And how did they come to that? It is not something that comes through aging – in fact it is something that comes with age. If you think you are a good child, then most certainly your parents have done a good job, and they have loved you well. They created you, and they created their bond with yours through love and passion and sacrifices. And surely, if you ask them, there can never be a greater joy then to see us turn into fine men and ladies ourselves. Well, this is the answer: we need to learn how to create our own bonds with the world. And we create it by wanting.

The usual concerns with us as young adults are the precedence of priority in the things we want. We want affectionate relationships, we want material-ed goods, we want money, we want a good career, we want happiness. Of course, in our world, material-ed goods, money and career takes precedence, and therefore those who go for anything else always end up pressurized to conform or to fail. But who wants to work for money? No one. If we all had a choice, we would prefer to sit and be rich and have money come in, economically speaking, so we could do the things we want to do.

I was a victim of this as well, before, but because of the lack of social influences I had the freedom to pursue what I wanted. That was, another being. More importantly, I pursued something I truly wanted and then was when I accidentally learned how to make my own bond, or, how to love, or, be passionate.

My idea is not at all new, nor is it bullshit or falsified. In fact I think I’ve plenty of materials to back me up. ‘The Secret’ is similar in nature, although I never finished reading that book. It explains that if you want something hard enough, you will get it. The quote, ‘Behind every successful man is a great woman’, is another quote. Every single figure of success in this world,

some of the greatest and richest people in the world – Bill Gates, Warren Buffett, Mark Zuckerberg,

or Einstein, or Plato, or David Thoreau, or Shakespeare, or Emerson. or Paulo Coelho.

Their works are a result of passion, a bond they created for themselves in their own specific fields.

And so are we, standing here. We are a result of passion, a bond created by our parents for us.

I daresay, none of us, not one, will ever truly succeed and be happy or satisfied, until we learn to love what we do. We can study some of the most respectable fields, and get great, well paying jobs but none of that will ever be enough until we learn to make our own bond with the world we’ve begun to create. And for most of us, as evidently seen from the world, if we truly see, we only learn to love in our late 20s and early 30s, when we have learned to love another being and extend our lives for theirs. Imagine yourself to be there, 28 years old and looking back. Isn’t it a little bit too late to be finally doing something right? Most people leave this world with the happiness of doing something right once, that is loving and creating a family and to have children – love, so great that the past 20-30 years of pain and struggling to get a well paid job to feed your family is now a minor sacrifice that you’ve learned to overlook. Would you not want that earlier, say, right now?

All I ask for, that is the intention of my writing, is that you stop, right now, whatever it is that you are doing. Start looking.

If you are strong enough, and brave enough, to stand up and be alone as I have done,then: explore, do what you want. You can never learn to love if you don’t begin to learn how to find first. You will never find something to love if you never learn to find as well. You, following suit through Secondary school, and then Polytechnic or Junior College, and then to University, what is it that you have learned to find on your own?

You find what you want, and you find passion. You find passion, and you find meaning. You find meaning, and you find the entire world.

And finally, quoting Walden, “When a man is warmed by [the luxury and fruits of life which enervates and destroys nations], what does he want next? Surely not more warmth of the same kind! When he has obtained these things which are necessary to life, there is another alternative than to obtain the superfluities; and that is, to adventure on life now, his vacation from humbler toil having commenced. The soil, it appears, is suited to the seed, for it has sent its radicle downwards, and it may now send its shoots upwards also with confidence. I do not speak to those who are well employed, in whatever circumstances, and they know whether they are well employed or not; – but mainly to the mass of men who are discontented, and idly complaining of the hardness of their lot or of the times, when they might improve them. To be a philosopher is not merely to have subtle thoughts, nor even to found a school, but so to love wisdom as to live.”
This is and will pretty much be my life for the next few years, and I’ve plenty of ways to develop revenue for life – just throwing that into the basket as well. For those of you who know me, you’d know I dislike anything that violates moral values, or self-based values or human righteousness so you could trust me – my methods are humanely legit. I am not exactly a good writer, but my intentions in all this is to live life, and I’d like to have other people living theirs as well. I’m not entirely sure if I’ve delivered my message properly, but, if you do decide to try it, or even to learn how to begin, I think I have a thing or two to say. I would gladly tell all that I know, however limited. Just drop me a message or an e-mail ^^

One thought on “This too shall pass

Leave a Reply

