10 things to do before I turn 25.

I never thought I’d bring about a list, but I think it’s that time in life I start doing because I am seriously running out of time. Most of them would be, well, interesting.

SO:

1. START GOING TO SOCIAL WEBSITES \m/

I’ve never really liked such websites – they CAPITALIZE desperate, and make you look like an unskilled, socially awkward being incapable of finding your own friends. Or perhaps, you can’t make normal friends so you turn to such websites that give you control over whether or not you want friends, or maybe you already have 129372 people on your Facebook and you feel the need to have one more person who likes One Direction’s What Makes You Beautiful added to your list.

But, then again, thinking about it, in accordance to the article posted on The American Scholar: The Disadvantages of an Elite Education , it’s made me aware that I cannot talk to people my type (why is this my life). I’ve never been to an elite institute, but I’ve been in the presence of many elite students, and my mother has once played a major role in being the parent who doesn’t want their children to face the same failures as they did. Being in Secondary school and Polytechnic however has taught me how to talk to people less intellectual so I guess it’s not that big a loss.

But I might fall into the dark side.

But.

I could learn to speak to everyone if I did.

 

2. Pull together the group

I’ve met, over the few interesting months, people who share the same interests but have no means or drive or motivation to actually do. There are some guys who’ve expressed interests in trading forex and stocks but cannot really get a grasp at it. There is one who is into the pickup artistry and philosophy. I think it would be an interesting group, but that’s if they’re willing to break away from their current obligations. Admittingly, guys, I’m quite rusty as well. I’ve not touched it since I entered National Service but I think we could allllllllllllllllllll get together and bone. NO. and I could pull together a practical tutorial to learn how to trade and you could be my minions. NO. and we could all trade together and learn and discuss. I’ve wanted to do this for a while now, but it is hard to get people purely analytical and not so very creative.

 

3. Join an activist group

This is still a dream. This really is. I’ve always imagined myself to be travelling and helping people whom I’d have the privillege to help. Of course I’d have to have money, and I don’t trust banks, so I can imagine myself walking someday with big sweatpants and pockets bulged with money. I’d like to someday work with people who have the same passion. Or perhaps join the dolphin activist group with Ric Ol’ Barry while the guy’s still alive, and maybe go around the world and save dolphins. \m/ or maybe convince North Korea to start a full scale nuclear war so we could end this corrupted world, or whatever. Preferably animals and women rights and human slavery.

I just want to join one: to have to dedicate a life against the billion others like you who see otherwise and choose to helpless sit and do nothing.

 

4. Have an elite education

Although, this is the least of my wants. It’s been said and proven that students who know what they want, and work only on the subjects that matter and not those that don’t, are the ones that never end up in the elite education system – I think that’s true.

“When elite universities boast that they teach their students how to think, they mean that they teach them the analytic and rhetorical skills necessary for success in law or medicine or science or business. But a humanistic education is supposed to mean something more than that, as universities still dimly feel. So when students get to college, they hear a couple of speeches telling them to ask the big questions, and when they graduate, they hear a couple more speeches telling them to ask the big questions. And in between, they spend four years taking courses that train them to ask the little questions—specialized courses, taught by specialized professors, aimed at specialized students. ”

“Indeed, that seems to be exactly what those schools want. There’s a reason elite schools speak of training leaders, not thinkers—holders of power, not its critics. An independent mind is independent of all allegiances, and elite schools, which get a large percentage of their budget from alumni giving, are strongly invested in fostering institutional loyalty.”

In this sense, an RJ education is dedicated to producing people for the RJ alumni. How many scholars or bright students have you heard of who choose to be part of their college alumni? Plenty, for me.

However it still interests me, this elite education. I probably won’t be able to tolerate the people in the group, but this education prepares you to be the upper class as ‘human beings’. That’s to say, there’s nothing else for you except CEO or President or whatnot. Because once there, you cannot take a medium class job. You’re trained for the job you’re about to occupy, that is the big fat salary jobs. Schools like Polytechnics (no offense) or the normal Junior Colleges trains you to be ready for the middle-classed jobs. And the thing about being up there, is, you’re entitled to – as said in the article above – some sort of ‘entitled meritocracy’.

I don’t intend to have any of these bullshit privileges as an elite student, but I just think it would prepare me to face a larger circle of people that I’d come across.

 

5. Get into a liberal arts college

Which is tearing me up inside, deeply.

What do I take: an established, prestigious and well-known university like University of Sydney, where I’d have the benefits and privileges of exclusive clubs that hold pride in what they do etc, OR a private liberal arts college, while not well known, deeply prestigious in it’s own values, and provides some of the best exposure to help an individual develop their minds, not careers, in areas like philosophy, art, psychology?

So it’s either 4 or 5, at this point.

 

6. Make a pot load of money

For real, bruh.

I need to find a way, genius or ingenius, to make money. I don’t have time yet, in National Service, to actively trade but as said before, I might begin to take up journalism as a side and write articles. Or join an activist group with a filthy rich funder.

Journalism looks like the most practical at the moment. Friend suggested sperm banks, because they tend to want to pay for interesting sperms but………. no.

And that was a joke for so many reasons. It is wrong on so many levels >.>

 

7. Find out if it is possible to die from laughter   Have the courage to break away

There have been some cases where people actually die from laughter. I’m not sure how they die, but they just die. Is it from dehydration or choking? Or does your heart just explode because you’re too happy.

But truthfully, I’d just like to know if I’d ever be courageous enough to leave behind everything and just be. Emerson wrote that when one answers to their truest higher calling, one has to leave mother, father, sister, wife, and/or child. Because as long as he is with them, he cannot be him.

Perhaps I would cross the line. Perhaps I would have to break my moral boundaries; to be primal in nature and lose an ego and super-ego. I don’t know. I would like to, and I hope someday I’d be able to, just for a while.

 

8. A Harry Potter and Star Wars themed room.

I think, secretly, every guy wants this. ^^

Come on dudes, don’t lie. I’m sure you’ve had some wild imagination about being some jedi master with lightsabers jumping around and battling evil gremlins or like a wizard with a cool wand and a hat (which I’ve just ordered from Sydney) GRYFFINDOR@@@

I mean, I can’t be the only one. And I’m perfectly normal.

I’d probably replace all the lights in my room with lightsabers – those plastic ones you can find in Toys R Us, and then get the Sorting Hat and robes as pyjamas to sleep at night. And, probably, a dvd rack with Blu Rays of the Harry Potter and Star Wars series (and LOTR and the Mentalist and White Collar and Prison Break and Power Rangers and the Lion King and Snow White blah blah all the Disney movies)

And a freakishly big globe.

 

Power Rangers, for sure. I’m sure as hell everyone has imagined being a Power Ranger.

 

9. Be an adrenaline junkie (and secretly dance)

Diving, caving, mad-ass roller coaster ride, sky diving, sky gliding again, whale watching, etc etc etc. And I’d like to do some of this with friends. I am going to miss the trip to Phuket with Leonard, Carisse and everyone because I’d be confined on this lame island, but I guess that’s all right for now.

It is somewhat liberating to be doing these, and I think it contributes in making you a mentally healthy and better person. All your life you’ve been doctrined to be good, stay low, and do safe stuff to keep yourself safe and in the system, not to fail, and to have control over your emotions and what you do. To jump off a cliff or a plane would definitely wreck the very fibres of your limitation wall in your mind and reconfigure it, I think. Or something like that.

And I’m going to take up dance lessons, not kidding. Going to start googling for good instructors now. 

 

10. Home is not a place

And with regards to the title, here is another fabulously written post: Home Is Not A Place.

I want to move out. I want to experience living in a different place, in a different country and having to make the place your new home. It is true – you leave a fragment of your soul in places you’ve lived at before. And I’d like to make this entire world a home, if possible. I’ve always thought of living in places like Japan, or the States, or Australia, to get a taste of liberalism, of culture, and a new experience.

 

 

This quite sums up my goals for the next 4 years of my life. I think a list of ‘Things to do before I die’ will come next if I ever fail to achieve this one. Obviously.

2 thoughts on “10 things to do before I turn 25.

Leave a Reply

